My Multitasking Homegrown Hero – Smith’s Rosebud Salve

9 May

Have you ever tried this tiny miracle in a tin? If not, you’re missing out. I first discovered rosebud salve from the immaculately groomed-yet-natural looking preppy princesses who I grew up with. These girls obviously put a lot of effort into their looks all whilst looking completely effortless, and always toted around a tin of rosebud salve in their Longchamp schoolbags. Now, I’m clearly more off-kilter glamourpuss than East Coast Wasp , but I do love products that keep me looking effortlessly fresh and pretty.

Smith’s Rosebud Salve

Smith’s Rosebud Salve is one of those cult products that is found in the makeup bags of not only beauty editors, but regular girls across America. I used to get tins of it sent to me in Paris when it was unavailable to buy there, such is my fidelity to this simple and wonderful balm.

Smith’s Rosebud Salve

But what is it? A 100 year old family recipe, housed in this charmingly retro tin, is a balm that looks lovely on lips, but also nourishes cuticles, relieves chapped skin and minor burns, and even diaper burn. I’ve seen this used slicked on eyebrows to keep them shiny and in place, to add a bit of glossy glow to cheeks and eyes for photo shoots, and to tame stray hairs in a strict chignon. This is legitimately a $6 tin of MIRACLE.  It now comes in a variety of flavors (including mocha rose and menthol), but the original, with a faint fragrance of rose and no flavor, is a classic for a reason.

Smith’s Rosebud Salve

The reason I love the rosebud salve desperately  is that it feels wonderful on lips. Light and slick, it leaves lips looking shiny (without a sticky gloss effect) in the most natural way possible, with only the slightest hint of healthy pink. It looks fantastic when used to soften lip color but I often skip even that step and use the rosebud salve to balance out a smokey eye, as well as pairing it with a natural makeup look. It’s tiny size means it is eminently portable, and though dipping into a tin with a finger isn’t the most hygienic, it is now available in germaphobic (and hands free) tubes as well.

I rarely tell readers that they absolutely need a product in their kit, but I’m doing so now – SNAP THIS UP!

Rosebud salve is available widely, though prices range from $6 to $8 in the US.  Buy it for the lesser price at sephora.com

In France, rosebud salve is available at American Apparel for about 9 euros, and at Urban Outfitters in the UK.

2 Responses to “My Multitasking Homegrown Hero – Smith’s Rosebud Salve”

  1. Morganvsmorgan May 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    This looks so pretty! I’ve often considered buying this and then havent (its more expensive where I’ve found it in Australia) but I may have to give it a go! I love the slight pink tint!

    • coquetteinparis May 14, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      I’m not sure how much more expensive it is in au, but it’s such a brilliant product – lasts for ages and I use it constantly! Worth it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

